Current Events:

For all walks, please make sure you have decent footwear (especially when it’s been wet) and suitable clothing: all walks will go ahead unless the weather is really bad (we’ve cancelled just one walk in the last 6 years) but do check if you’re in any doubt or want more information. If conditions necessitate the route of walks may need to change at short notice.

20 March 2024
iPony and foal
Northall Green walk

This 6 mile walk will take in Northall Green and paths to the east of the town. Meet at 10:15 at the play area at The Neatherd. If coming by car, please allow time to park further down the track or elsewhere if there are no spaces at the adjacent parking area.

The walk will include a specific 10 minutes (or so) break, so please feel free to bring refreshments if you wish. The walk will be led at a reasonable pace, a little faster than our short walks - we do not rush, but we do need to make progress for the group as a whole; if you have any questions about our speed, please raise them with us.

You should come with decent footwear (especially when it’s been wet) and suitable clothing.

For more details contact Ken Hawkins
Tel: 07561 813243
email: ken-hawkins@tiscali.co.uk

Regular Event: First Friday
Friday Monthly Walks
Short walks around Dereham

Join us for a leisurely short walk of no more than 4 miles. There’s no need to book, just turn up.

Next short walk is Friday 1 March
starting 10:15 from Greenfields Rd by the Windmill

If coming by car, please park on Greenfields Rd,
not in the Windmill car park.

Again on this walk, we plan to revive an old arrangement - going to a local café for hot drinks and/or lunch at the end, in this case Partea Hut at the Windmill. If this option appeals come prepared with a bit of available time and money.

As a short walk, there is not a programmed refreshment stop, but there are usually a number of short halts for people to collect and catch breath.

The walk will be led at a reasonable pace - we do not rush, but we do need to make progress for the group as a whole; if you have any questions about our speed, please raise them with us. If you would like a slower pace maybe try our 'Easy Tuesday Walks'.

See a report of our February short walk.

Regular Event: Second Tuesday
Easy Tuesday Walks
Easy Tuesday Walks around Dereham

Join us on the second Tuesday of the month for a walk no more than two miles and on good and even surfaces: we will make it clear in the email if this is not the case. The pace will be steady with regular pauses to catch our breath.

Afterwards there will be an opportunity to have some refreshments at a nearby hotel/cafe (bring your purse).

The next walk will be on 12 March.
Meet at 10:00 outside Dads-and-Lads
(near the entrance of Cherry Tree car park)

Please note that if you need personal support in order to take part, you will need to arrange this yourself; we regret that we are unable to provide it for you.


2024+
Full Programme for the Year
Boot prints

2024 Programme
Calendar

Walks plan 2024, this is the initial plan so subject to change. As time goes by you will be able to see how the walks went on our Event History page

E="easy" (2 miles),
S="short" (4 miles),
F="full" (5-7+ miles):
** 2024 **
Mon 1 Jan F Full NYD walk (Rushmeadow) tick
Fri 5 Jan S Regular Short walk - Neatherd tick
Tue 9 Jan E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Fri 2 Feb S Regular Short walk - Town Centre tick
Tue 13 Feb E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Sat 17 Feb F Bus-walk (Swanton Morley) tick
Fri 1 Mar S Regular Short walk - Windmill
Tue 12 Mar E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Wed 20 Mar F Full walk
Fri 5 Apr S Regular Short walk - Neatherd
Tue 9 Apr E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Sat 20 Apr S Shorter walk and AGM (Church St)
Fri 3 May S Regular Short walk - Town Centre
Tue 14 May E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Wed 29 May F Badley Moor
Fri 7 June S Regular Short walk - Windmill
Tue 11 June E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Sat 15 Jun F Full walk (Rushmeadow)
Fri 5 July S Regular Short walk - Neatherd
Tue 9 July E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Thu 18 Jul F Train-walk (Thuxton)
Fri 2 Aug S Regular Short walk - Windmill
Tue 13 Aug E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Mon 26 Aug F Garden Party walk
Fri 6 Sept S Regular Short walk - Town Centre
Sat 7 Sept F Heritage Open Day walk
Tue 10 Sept E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Sat 14 Sept F Heritage Open Day walk
Tue 8 Oct E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Fri 11 Oct S Regular Short walk - Neatherd
Wed 16 Oct F Bus-walk (Beetley)
Fri 1 Nov S Regular Short walk - Windmill
Tue 12 Nov E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Fri 6 Dec S Regular Short walk - Town Centre
Tue 10 Dec E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
** 2025 **
Wed 1 Jan F Full NYD walk