Current Events:

For all walks, please make sure you have decent footwear (especially when it’s been wet) and suitable clothing: all walks will go ahead unless the weather is really bad (we’ve cancelled just one walk in the last 6 years) but do check if you’re in any doubt or want more information. If conditions necessitate the route of walks may need to change at short notice.

Wednesday 17 July 2024
railway lines
Thuxton Train Walk
Booking ESSENTIAL by 5 July please

With a change of date, our ride and walk on the Mid-Norfolk Railway will now be on Wednesday 17 July (not 18 July as previously indicated - we had guessed at the likely MNR timetable and it turned out to be slightly different).

The event will start at 10:15 at the Railway Station, catching the 10:30 departure for the 20 minute ride to Thuxton. From there, we will walk back to Dereham via Garvestone, Whinburgh and Toftwood. The walk is about 7 miles and will include a specific 10 minutes (or so) break, so please feel free to bring refreshments if you wish.

Booking is essential for this walk, there are two options:

All payments will be taken on the day. Please note that refreshments taken before the train ride are not included in this deal, nor can the payment be used to offset the cost of a lunch if you choose to have one at the station on return. Full details will be sent to everyone booking.

Bookings will be needed by 5 July so that orders can be processed in time

The walk will be led at a reasonable pace - we do not rush, but we do need to make progress for the group as a whole; if you have any questions about our speed, please raise them with us. You should come with decent footwear (especially when it’s been wet) and suitable clothing.

For more details or to book contact Ken Hawkins
Tel: 07561 813243
email: ken-hawkins@tiscali.co.uk

Regular Event: First Friday
Friday Monthly Walks
Short walks around Dereham

Join us for a leisurely short walk of no more than 4 miles. There’s no need to book, just turn up.

Next short walk starts 10:15, Friday 5 July
from The Neatherd play area

If coming by car, please allow time to park elsewhere if the limited space by the play area is full. (There is parking further along the rough track past the play area and the pond.)

See a report from our April and June short walks.

For more details see our Current Events page.


Regular Event: Second Tuesday
Easy Tuesday Walks
Easy Tuesday Walks around Dereham

Join us on the second Tuesday of the month for a walk no more than two miles and on good and even surfaces: we will make it clear in the email if this is not the case. The pace will be steady with regular pauses to catch our breath.

Afterwards there will be an opportunity to have some refreshments at a nearby hotel/cafe (bring your purse).

The next walk will be on Tuesday 9 July.
Meet at 10:00 outside Dads-and-Lads
(near the entrance of Cherry Tree car park)

For more details see our Current Events page.


2024+
Full Programme for the Year
Boot prints

2024 Programme
Calendar June Update

Walks plan 2024, this is the initial plan so subject to change. As time goes by you will be able to see how the walks went on our Event History page

E="easy" (2 miles),
S="short" (4 miles),
F="full" (5-7+ miles):
** 2024 **
Mon 1 Jan F Full NYD walk (Rushmeadow) tick
Fri 5 Jan S Regular Short walk - Neatherd tick
Tue 9 Jan E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Fri 2 Feb S Regular Short walk - Town Centre tick
Tue 13 Feb E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Sat 17 Feb F Bus-walk (Swanton Morley) tick
Fri 1 Mar S Regular Short walk - Windmill tick
Tue 12 Mar E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Wed 20 Mar F North & East walk tick
Fri 5 Apr S Regular Short walk - Neatherd tick
Tue 9 Apr E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Sat 20 Apr S Shorter walk and AGM tick
Fri 3 May S Regular Short walk - Town Centre tick
Tue 14 May E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Mon 27 May F Late May Bank Holiday tick
Fri 7 June S Regular Short walk - Windmill tick
Tue 11 June E Regular Easy Tuesday walk tick
Sat 15 Jun F (Nearly) Summer tick
Fri 5 July S Regular Short walk - Neatherd
Tue 9 July E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Thu 17 Jul F Train-walk (Thuxton)
Fri 2 Aug S Regular Short walk - Windmill
Tue 13 Aug E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Mon 26 Aug F Garden Party walk
Fri 6 Sept S Regular Short walk - Town Centre
Sat 7 Sept F Heritage Open Day walk
Tue 10 Sept E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Sat 14 Sept F Heritage Open Day walk
Tue 8 Oct E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Fri 11 Oct S Regular Short walk - Neatherd
Wed 16 Oct F Bus-walk (Beetley)
Fri 1 Nov S Regular Short walk - Windmill
Tue 12 Nov E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
Fri 6 Dec S Regular Short walk - Town Centre
Tue 10 Dec E Regular Easy Tuesday walk
** 2025 **
Wed 1 Jan F Full NYD walk